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 On October 29, 2019, the Nebraska Public Service Commission 

(“Commission”) opened the above-captioned docket to amend Title 291, 

Chapter 3, Motor Carrier Rules and Regulations.  The proposed rule 

amendments are as follows: (1) adding a new service classification, 

(2) incorporating rules pertaining to taxi soft meters, (3) updating 

language to reflect changes adopted in 2017 by the Legislature 

concerning hours of service, (4) clarifying federal logbook 

compliance,(5) updating minimum insurance requirements, and (6) 

updating rules regarding vehicle safety.  

 

 The Commission received written comment collectively from the 

following companies as the Nebraska Transportation Coalition: Camelot 

Transportation, Inc. and Triumph Transportation, Inc.; City Taxi, 

Inc.; Comstock Corp. d/b/a Action Cab; and WHC NE, LLC d/b/a zTrip, 

WHC NE, LLC d/b/a Cornhusker Cab Company and zTrip, WHC NE, LLC d/b/a 

Happy Cab and zTrip, WHC NE, LLC d/b/a Checker Cab Company and zTrip, 

WHC NE, LLC d/b/a Yellow Cab Company and zTrip, and WHC NE, LLC d/b/a 

Safeway Cabs and zTrip.  No other written comments were received.  

 

The Commission issued a Notice of Hearing on this matter on 

January 28, 2020.  Notice of the hearing was published in The Daily 

Record, Omaha, the Omaha World-Herald, and the Lincoln Journal Star on 

February 6, 2020.  Additional notice of the hearing was sent to the 

Chairman of the Executive Board, the Governor’s Policy and Research 

Office, and the Nebraska Secretary of State. 

 

 Public hearing on the first set of proposed rules was held on 

March 10, 2020.  Ms. Jamie Reyes and Mr. Dillon Keiffer-Johnson 

appeared on behalf of Commission staff, and Mr. Andy Pollock of 

Rembolt Ludtke LLP appeared on behalf of the Nebraska Transportation 

Coalition. 

 

E V I D E N C E 

 

 Ms. Reyes gave the Commission a brief overview of the changes 

proposed in the rulemaking.  When asked whether Commission inspectors 

would have the capability to calibrate soft meters, Ms. Reyes stated 

that inspectors would not calibrate soft meters because the meter 

system only allows a system administrator to make changes to the 
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meters.  Ms. Reyes explained that inspectors would require a vehicle 

to run though the meter course to determine whether the soft meter was 

calculating the rate correctly and notify the carrier of any issues.  

Inspectors would certify that the meters are operating as intended.1  

Finally, Ms. Reyes concluded with a review of the proposed changes to 

insurance liability requirements to be based upon the vehicle’s 

seating capacity.  Ms. Reyes stated that the current minimum liability 

levels are $500,000 for taxicab service class, $1.5 million for 

vehicles with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or less, and $5 

million for vehicles with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or more.  

The proposed rulemaking would amend the $500,000 minimum to eliminate 

the reference to taxicab and allow the minimum for vehicles with a 

seating capacity of 7 passengers or less, no matter the service class, 

and $1.5 million for vehicles with a seating capacity between 8 to 15 

passengers.2 

 

 Next, Mr. Andy Pollock made a statement on behalf of the Nebraska 

Transportation Coalition, a group of transportation carriers that 

filed collective written comment to the rulemaking.  Regarding the 

proposed rules on the use of soft meters, Mr. Pollock stated that the 

taxicab companies were in strong support of the proposed rules and 

were committed to ensuring that the Commission have the ability to 

verify the soft meter’s accuracy.3  Mr. Pollock went on to state that 

the group was also in strong support of the proposed changes to 

insurance requirements, noting that the proposed change creates equity 

in the insurance costs paid by carriers in different service classes 

using the same vehicles types to provide services.4 

 

 No additional statements or public comment were received.  

Commission exhibits one through twelve were received into the record. 

 

O P I N I O N S  A N D  F I N D I N G S 

 

 The proposed rules, attached hereto as Appendix A, reflect and 

incorporate all proposed changes to the Motor Carrier Rules and 

Regulations referenced in the first set of proposed rules and the 

public hearing. 

 

 Subsequent to the issuance of the first set of proposed rules, it 

was determined that corrections to numbering needed to be made to rule 

section 005.09.  The corrected numbering sequence is incorporated into 

the attached Appendix A.  Since this is not a substantive change, no 

further public hearing is necessary. 

 

                                                           
1 Hrg Transc. at 13:20-15:3. 
2 Id. at 16:8-17:3. 
3 Id. at 18:6-19. 
4 Id. at 18:20-19:15. 
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As the only commenter was supportive of the proposed changes and 

no other comments were received, the Commission finds that the 

proposed rules set forth in Appendix A should be adopted and a 

Certificate of Adoption issued. 

 

O R D E R 

 

 IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED by the Nebraska Public Service Commission 

that a certificate of adoption for the proposed rules set forth in 

Appendix A be, and is hereby, issued.  

 

 ENTERED AND MADE EFFECTIVE at Lincoln, Nebraska, this 16th day of 

June, 2020. 

 

      NEBRASKA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

 

COMMISSIONERS CONCURRING: 

 

 

      Chair 

 

      ATTEST:  

 

 

 

      Executive Director 
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Appendix A 
001  GENERAL: 
 

001.01  Definitions:  The definitions found in Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-302 (Reissue 2018) 
apply to these rules.  In addition to those definitions, the following apply to this chapter, 
unless the context otherwise requires:  

  
001.01A  Commission:  The Nebraska Public Service Commission. 

 
001.01B  Driver:  Any person who operates a motor vehicle. 

 
001.01C  Limousine:  A vehicle used to provide limousine service. 
 
001.01D Low Speed Vehicle: a (1) four-wheeled motor vehicle (a) whose 
speed attainable in one mile is more than twenty miles per hour and not more 
than twenty-five miles per hour on a paved, level surface, (b) whose gross 
vehicle weight rating is less than three thousand pounds, and (c) that complies 
with 49 C.F.R. part 571, as such part existed on January 1, 2019, or (2) three-
wheeled motor vehicle (a) whose maximum speed attainable is not more than 
twenty-five miles per hour on a paved, level surface, (b) whose gross vehicle 
weight rating is less than three thousand pounds, and (c) which is equipped 
with a windshield and an occupant protection system.  

    
001.01E  NPSC Plate:  A license plate which is issued by the Commission to 
holders of Commission authority. 

  
001.01f  On Demand: Service requested by street hail; offered at a cab stand, 
airport feeder lines, bus stations, or similar staging area; personal summoning 
by a passenger; or personal solicitation by a driver of the vehicle or an 
employee, contractor, or agent of the carrier; 
 
001.01G  Prearranged: Service requested and arranged in advance of the time 
that the service is to be performed. Nothing in this definition will be construed to 
allow on demand services. This definition will not replace the definition of 
prearranged in  
§ 012.02(I) of the rules pertaining to Transportation Network Companies; 

  
001.01H  Premium Fare:  A rate based on an hourly rental of not less than one 
(1) hour at a scheduled rate which will be set, and periodically reviewed, by the 
Commission and which will include a minimum rental of not less than one hour.  
A mileage charge may be assessed for the transportation of the vehicle only for 
such time before and after the transportation is provided and only in addition to 
the minimum hourly charged as provided by this definition. 
 
001.01I Taxi Soft Meter: a mechanical or digital device that calculates the time-
and-distance fares for a taxicab service by software-based devices that utilize 
GPS or other measurement data in the calculation of time-and-distance fares 
for taxicab service. 
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001.01J Taximeter: a mechanical or digital device that calculates the time-and-
distance fares for a taxicab service by a physical connection to the vehicle. 

  
001.02  Matter to Be Set For Hearing:  All matters that require a hearing will be set for 
hearing at the earliest practicable date and in no event, except for good cause shown, 
will the time fixed for hearing be more than six (6) months after the date of the filing of 
the petition. Any application that is not set for hearing as set forth above will be 
dismissed. 
 
001.03  Requirements for an Effective Authority: 
 

 001.03A  The following requirements  must be fulfilled no later  
than forty-five (45) days following the date an authority is granted by the 
Commission: 

 
  001.03A1  Filing of  proposed  rates or subscribing to 
   the Household Goods Mover Tariff; 
 

001.03A2  Filing of Commission required insurance documents; 
and 

   
  001.03A3  Payment of Annual Fees 

 
001.03B  An authority issued by the Commission is not effective until  the  
requirements  of  subsection 001.03A have been fulfilled. 

 
001.03C  If after forty-five (45)  days an  applicant  has  not fulfilled the 
requirements  of subsection  001.03A  above,  the Commission’s  grant  of  
authority will be considered null and void.  

 
002 OPERATIONS RULES:  
 

002.01  Unauthorized Operations:  Unless specifically exempted by statute, a regulated 
motor common or contract carrier of passengers or household goods will not operate any 
motor vehicle on any public highway in this state except in accordance with state law and 
these rules.  A motor common or contract carrier of household goods or passengers will 
not operate upon any public highway without first having obtained from the Commission a 
certificate or permit of authority and will not operate except in compliance with the terms 
and conditions and restrictions of the authority or permit.  A motor common or contract 
carrier does not avoid the jurisdiction of the Commission by engaging in a lease.  No 
carrier, without first obtaining written Commission approval, will:  
  

002.01A  Fail to operate over its entire certificated route.  
  

002.01B  Discontinue in any part service authorized.  
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002.01C  Serve any part of its certificated route by interline agreement with 
another carrier.  

 
002.01D  Fail to confine its operations to those authorized under its certificate or 
permit.  

  
002.02  Rates:  Each regulated motor carrier will charge and collect rates, issue and 
deliver freight bills, and obtain receipts showing delivery of shipments carried, as 
prescribed by the Commission in its effective Motor Vehicle Tariffs, schedule of charges, 
and supplements.  

  
002.03  Deviations from Routes:  A carrier which has received authority from the 
Commission to operate only along a designated route may not deviate from their 
authorized route unless such route has been redesignated, relocated or temporarily 
closed, when such route has been obstructed by any natural or other cause over which 
the regulated motor carrier has no control, or when a detour has been designated by the 
Department of Roads, law enforcement, or an authorized agency of a political subdivision 
of the state.    
 
002.04  Schedules:  Schedules containing the actual rates or charges of such carrier for 
the transportation of passengers or household goods in intra-state commerce will be filed 
with and approved by the Commission, published and kept open for public inspection.  In 
the event that such rates are changed after a permit is issued, the carrier will file a new 
schedule with the Commission ten (10) days before the effective date of such rates or 
charges. 

 
003  CLASSIFICATIONS:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-304 (Reissue 1996), the 
Commission determines that the following classifications of motor carriers are necessary or 
desirable in the public interest.  All certificates and permits issued by the Commission will be 
construed and interpreted, and the operations authorized will be tested and determined in 
accordance with these classifications.  
  

003.01  Service Classifications:  Every applicant for common or contract transportation 
will designate the type of transportation service re-quested from the classifications found 
in this section and will further designate whether (1) such service as requested will be 
provided as a common carrier or as a contract carrier and, if a contract carrier, the 
persons or entities contracted with; (2) the service, if granted, will be provided over (a) a 
regular route which route shall be described in the application or (b) an irregular route 
which territory the applicant seeks to provide transportation which will be described, and 
(3) any other restrictions will be applicable. An applicant who desires to transport railroad 
train crews and their baggage or clients of the Nebraska State Department of Health and 
Human Services or any con-tractors of the Department will make specific application for 
such authority. 
 

003.01A  Bus service consists of the following elements: (1) the business of 
carrying passengers and their baggage (2) by bus or van (3) either by charter 
or regular route (4) either prearranged or scheduled service (5) at a fare 
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approved and on file with the Commission.  Bus service may be hired on a 
charter or special party basis. 

 
003.01A1  Scheduled service means service by any regulated 
motor carrier who undertakes to transport passengers and their 
baggage in intrastate commerce by motor vehicle for compensation 
between fixed termini and over a specific highway or highways upon 
an established or fixed schedule. 
 
003.01A2  Charter service means transportation of groups of seven 
or more persons who collectively contract for transportation on a 
particular trip paying one lump sum. 
 
003.01A3  Special party service means the transportation of a group 
or groups of one or more persons who individually contract for 
transportation to a common destination with each person paying an 
individual sum. 
 

003.01B  Household goods moving service consists of all of the following 
elements: (1) the business of carrying personal effects and property used, or to 
be used, in a dwelling when the transportation of such effects or property is (2) 
arranged and paid for (3) by any party and (4) includes transportation of 
property from a factory, manufacturer, or store when the property is purchased 
with the intent to use such property in a dwelling. 
 
003.01C  Limousine service consists of all of the following elements: (1) the 
business of carrying passengers for hire by a vehicle (2) along a route under 
the control of the person who hired the vehicle and not over a defined regular 
route (3) on prearranged and not on a demand basis (4) at a premium fare.   

 
003.01D  Open class service consists of all of the following elements: (1) the 
business of carrying passengers for hire by a vehicle (2) along the most direct 
route between the points of origin and destination or along a route under the 
control of the person who hired the vehicle and not over a defined regular route 
(3) on a prearranged and not on a demand basis (4)at a mileage based, per trip 
fare, or an hourly rate.   

 
003.01D1  In calculating charges for transportation, a carrier 
charging a mileage based fare may use only the actual loaded 
mileage traveled by the vehicle to transport such passengers.  
Mileage based charges may not be augmented or enhanced 
through any calculation that does not reflect actual mileage traveled. 
 

003.01E  Taxicab service consists of all of the following elements: (1) the 
business of carrying passengers for hire by a vehicle, subject to the provisions 
of Rule 010.02 (2) along the most direct route between the points of origin and 
destination or a route under the control of the person who hired the vehicle and 
not over a defined regular route (3) on a prearranged or demand basis (4) at a 



SECRETARY’S RECORD, PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

 

Rule and Regulation No. 203   Page 8 

metered mileage based or per trip fare according to the provisions of Rule 
010.02H (5) commencing within and/or restricted to a defined geographic area.   
 
003.01F Unique Purpose service consists of all of the following elements: (1) 
the business of carrying passengers for hire (2) by low-speed vehicle (3) by 
regular routes, irregular routes, or along a route under the control of the person 
who hired the vehicle (4) on a prearranged or on-demand basis (5) at a per trip 
fare or hourly rate approved and on file with the Commission. 

 
003.02  Restrictions:  In addition to the other applicable Motor Carrier Rules in this 
chapter, the following provisions apply to all classes of service unless otherwise 
specifically provided in these rules: 

 
003.02A  The Commission, based on the record before it in an application 
proceeding, restrict the transportation of passengers by type of vehicle, 
geographic territory, commencement point or termination point, or any other 
lawful factor which the Commission may determine is necessary or reasonable 
and in the public interest.  Covenants not to compete or similar agreements 
that restrict the proposed service or the geographic territory of a proposed 
service that the Commission finds are not in the public interest will not be 
considered lawful and will not be approved in an application proceeding.   
 
003.02B  No carrier will transport railroad crews or their baggage absent a 
special designation from the Commission giving such carrier the authority to 
transport such crews and their baggage. 
 
003.02C  No carrier will transport passengers under contract with the Nebraska 
Department of Health and Human Services or any subcontractors of the 
Department of Health and Human Services absent specific authorization from 
the Commission.  In order to receive such authorization, the applying carrier 
must demonstrate that such authorization is or will be required by the present 
or future convenience and necessity separate and apart from the present or 
future convenience and necessity demonstrated on the underlying certificate of 
authority.  Authorization to transport HHS clientele will not be available or 
granted to carriers that only have limousine service authority.  

 
003.03  Classifications for Purposes of Required Insurance:  The following classifications 
are established for the purpose of determining insurance requirements for vehicles 
operated under authority from the Commission.  Operators of motor vehicles are required 
to carry the minimum levels of financial responsibility as prescribed.  Operators will also 
comply with all applicable insurance regulations as found in Rule 006 of this chapter. 

 
003.03A  Regulated carriers of household goods are required to carry liability 
insurance of not less than seven hundred and fifty thousand dollars 
($750,000.00) plus cargo insurance of not less than five thousand dollars 
($5,000.00) of coverage. 
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003.03B  Carriers of passengers in vehicles with a rated seating capacity of 
sixteen (16) passengers or more as originally manufactured or as currently 
modified are required to carry liability insurance of not less than five million 
dollars ($5,000,000.00) of coverage. 

 
003.03C  Carriers of passengers in vehicles with a rated seating capacity 
between eight (8) and fifteen (15) passengers  are required to carry liability 
insurance of not less than one million, five hundred thousand dollars 
($1,500,000.00) of coverage. 

 
003.03D Carriers of passengers in vehicles with a rated seating capacity of 
no more than seven (7) passengersare required to carry liability insurance of 
not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000.00) of coverage. 

 
004 FEES AND IDENTIFICATION:  
 

004.01  Application Fee:  An application fee approved annually by the Commission will be 
payable by the applicant at the time of filing an application.  This application fee will not 
apply to any person who contracts for transportation services with the Nebraska 
Department of Health and Human Services or any agency organized under the Nebraska 
Community Aging Services Act who is not required to hold a certificate from the 
Commission pursuant to the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. sections 75-303.01 and 75-
303.02 (Cum. Supp. 2000). 
 
004.02  Annual Fees:  An annual fee approved annually by the Commission will be 
remitted for each motor vehicle operated by each regulated motor carrier. A fee approved 
annually by the Commission will be remitted by each regulated motor carrier for each 
truck-trailer or tractor-trailer combination operated. Such annual fees are due and 
payable by every regulated motor carrier on the first day of January of each year, and is 
delinquent on the first day of March of that year.  If the initial certificate or permit is issued 
to a motor carrier on or after July 1, the fee will be fifty percent of the annual fee. 
 
004.03  Identification Cards:  The following provisions concerning identification cards 
apply to all motor carriers:  

 
004.03A  Issuance:  The Commission will issue annually, without additional 
charge, an identification card for each motor vehicle, upon payment of an 
annual fee, and upon compliance with all statutory requirements and rules and 
regulations of the Commission.  The card will contain the certificate or permit 
number issued by the Commission, the name and address of the holder, and 
other information as the Commission may require. Upon replacement or 
addition of any vehicle, a new identification card will be obtained by the 
regulated motor carrier by application to the Commission and the previously 
issued identification card will be surrendered to the Commission. 

 
004.03B  Display:  No motor vehicle subject to Commission jurisdiction will be 
operated without an identification card, protected from defacement, in the 
driver's cab.  
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004.04  PSC Plates:  The following provisions concerning PSC plates will apply to all 
regulated motor carriers:  

  
004.04A  Issuance:  The Commission will issue PSC plates to motor carriers 
who have complied with all statutory requirements and rules and regulations of 
the Commission, and who have completed and filed a copy of the forms 
furnished by the Commission to provide a detailed description for each unit for 
which a PSC plate is required.  

  
004.04B  Display:  No vehicle will be operated without the secure attachment of 
its PSC plate in the following manner:  

 
004.04B1  On passenger carrying units, at the front or rear of the 
vehicle, and easily legible from the front or rear. 
  
004.04B2  On power units on any portion of the front part, 
preferably to the regular vehicle license so as to be easily read from 
the front.  
 
004.04B3  On straight trucks and vehicles with no more than two 
axles on either the front or rear so as to be easily legible.  

  
004.04C  Transfer:  A transferee or lessee of a certificate or permit may use the 
PSC plates of the transferor or lessor for the remainder of the calendar year, 
without payment of an additional fee for use of the plates, upon approval in 
writing by the Commission after the transferee or lessee has applied to the 
Commission for the approval, and has given the Commission a full, written 
description of the equipment or vehicle to which the PSC plates are to be 
transferred and any other relevant information requested by the Commission.  
The plates will be used only on the specific equipment or vehicle to which they 
are assigned.  

  
004.04D  Loss:  If a plate is lost or destroyed, such loss or destruction will be 
reported to the Commission within forty-eight (48) hours after the discovery of 
such loss or destruction.  A substitute plate may be obtained upon making 
request for such plate, upon filing an affidavit with the Commission setting forth 
the time, place and circumstances surrounding the loss or destruction, and 
upon payment of a fee approved annually by the Commission.  

  
004.04E  Return of Plates:  Upon suspension, cancellation, or revocation of a 
certificate or permit, or upon sale, transfer, or other disposition of equipment or 
vehicles to which a PSC plate has been assigned, the plates will be returned to 
the Commission within ten days, except if such plate has been transferred to a 
transferee or lessee in accordance with these rules.  

 
004.05  Door Displays:  The following provisions concerning door displays will apply to all 
regulated motor carriers except to those carriers providing limousine service.  
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004.05A  Contents:  The name, or trade name, of the carrier under whose 
authority the vehicle is being operated, and the Commission application 
number assigned to the operating authority, excluding supplement numbers, 
will be displayed on both doors or sides of each powered vehicle.  If the name 
of any person other than the operating carrier appears on a vehicle, the name 
of the operating carrier will be followed by the information required in this 
section and be preceded by the words "operated by".  Additional identification 
may be displayed if it is consistent with the above requirements.  

  
004.05B  Size and Color:  Each door display will be legible at all times.  The 
application number will be readily legible, during daylight hours, from a distance 
of 50 feet (15.24 meters) while the vehicle is stationary.  The color scheme of 
the display will be in distinct contrast to the background color of the vehicle.  

 
004.05C  Removal:  Any numeral or letter painted on equipment in accordance 
with this section will be removed by the carrier when possession or ownership 
changes, or when a different carrier operates such equipment.  

 
005  SAFETY REGULATIONS:  
 

005.01  Minimum Qualifications:  Each person driving a motor vehicle subject to the 
Commission jurisdiction will possess the following minimum qualifications: 

 
005.01A  Sound physical and mental condition with no mental, nervous, 
organic, or functional disease or structural defect or limitation likely to interfere 
with safe driving.  

  
005.01B  Adequate sight which includes vision with visual acuity of at least 
20/40 (Snellen) in each eye either without corrective lenses, or visual acuity 
separately corrected to 20/40 (Snellen) or better with corrective lenses, distant 
binocular acuity of at least 20/40 (Snellen) in both eyes with or without 
corrective lenses,  field of vision of at least 70 degrees in the horizontal 
meridian in each eye, and the ability to recognize the colors of traffic signals 
and devices showing standard red, green and amber. Persons who require 
corrective lenses to meet the minimum sight requirement must wear such 
lenses while operating the motor vehicle. 

 
005.01C  Adequate hearing which includes hearing of not less than 10/20 in 
the better ear for conversational tone without a hearing aid.  

  
005.01D  Freedom from the use of narcotics or illegal drugs.  
 

005.01D1  Pre-employment drug and alcohol testing will be required 
of all drivers transporting railroad personnel.  The testing will be 
done for alcohol and controlled substances as provided by 49 CFR 
Parts 40 and 382 as such regulations existed on January 1, 2013. 
 



SECRETARY’S RECORD, PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

 

Rule and Regulation No. 203   Page 12 

005.01D2  A driver will be qualified to drive if the alcohol test results 
indicate an alcohol concentration of zero (0) and the controlled 
substance test results indicate a verified negative result. 
 
005.01D3  A driver will be disqualified to drive if the alcohol and 
controlled substance test results are not in compliance with 49 CFR 
Parts 40 and 383; or if the driver refuses to provide a specimen for 
testing; or if the driver submits an adulterated, diluted or substituted 
sample for the tests to be performed. 

  
005.01E  Eighteen 18 years of age.   

  
005.01F  Possession of a valid operator's license appropriate for the vehicle 
being operated.  

  
005.01G  Ability to read, speak and understand the English language.  

  
005.02  Medical Certificate:  Each motor carrier will have on files a certificate of physical 
examination signed by a licensed physician or a licensed physician assistant for every 
driver in its employment, attesting that the physician or licensed physician assistant has 
examined the driver to meet the requirements in 005.01.  Such certification will be 
renewed no less than every two years.  Physical certificates obtained pursuant to federal 
regulations will meet the requirements of this section. 
  
005.03  Background Check:  Each operator of a motor vehicle subject to the 
Commission's jurisdiction will be subject to a criminal background check submitted to the 
Commission.  

 
005.04  Impaired Alertness:  No person will operate a motor vehicle while such operator's 
alertness is impaired by fatigue, illness, or other causes.  
 
005.05  Hours of Service: No motor carrier will permit or require any driver employed by 
such motor carrier to drive nor will any such driver drive (1) more than twelve (12) hours 
following ten (10) consecutive hours off duty or (2) for any period after having been on 
duty sixteen (16) hours following ten (10) consecutive hours off duty. 

  
005.06  A logbook, (Form MCS-59), as required by the United States Department of 
Transportation in Section 395.8 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, will be 
maintained by each driver traveling more than one hundred (100) air road miles from the 
garage or terminus at which such driver reports for work.  

  
 

005.06(a) The original copy of each day's logbook sheet for each over-the-road 
driver will be kept on record at the home office or base of operations of each 
motor carrier in the State of Nebraska for not less than one year.   
 
005.06(b)The copies will be filed according to the date of the logbook sheet.   
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005.06(c)All filings will be available for examination by the Commission. 
 
005.06(d) For all passenger carriers that must comply with this are not required 
to comply with the trip log requirements set out in rule 010.01E and its 
subparts. 

  
005.08  Inspection of Vehicles:  The Commission may at any time, but at least annually, 
inspect or cause to be inspected any vehicle subject to its jurisdiction.  The inspections 
may be conducted at any place except that inspections of passenger carrying vehicles 
will not impede or delay the schedule upon which the vehicle is operating.  The 
Commission may at any time enter the operating premises of the carrier or into such 
vehicles as may be operated by the carrier to ascertain whether any statute, rule, or 
regulation has been violated. 

   
 
005.09 Each vehicle shall at all times be kept in proper physical and mechanical condition 
so as to render safe and comfortable public service, as may be determined by the 
Commission. 
 

005.09A Minor Defects in Equipment: Minor defects in equipment that are not 
likely to endanger life or property may be corrected by maintenance staff of 
the carrier. When the defects have been corrected, the carrier, or its agent, will 
notify the Commission that corrections have been made. 
 
005.09B Major Defects: If the Commission finds that a motor vehicle under its 
jurisdiction is unsafe or poses a significant risk to public safety, it may order 
the carrier to take the vehicle out of service and marked as out of service until 
repairs have been made and the vehicle has been re-inspected by 
Commission personnel. 

 
005.09C  Appeal By Carrier:  A carrier, when notified by the Commission that 
a motor vehicle has been declared and marked "Out Of Service" under the 
provisions of subsection 005.9B may, before the close of the first business day 
following the date of such notice, appeal by sending notice, by facsimile or in 
person to the Commission.   
 

005.09C(a) Upon receipt of such appeal notice, the Director of the 
Transportation Department of the Commission will arrange for the 
assignment of an inspector to re-inspect or cause to have re-
inspected such vehicle within twenty-four (24) hours from date of 
receipt of the appeal which will include only those normal hours of 
operation for the Commission.   
 
005.09C(b) If upon re-inspection, the motor vehicle is found in  
safe condition and to pose no significant risk to public safety, the 
Commission will notify the carrier by telephone or facsimile that 
the vehicle is no longer out of service and that the motor vehicle 
may be put into service without further delay.   
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005.09C(c) If, upon re-inspection, the vehicle is found to be in an 
unsafe condition or that the vehicle still poses a significant risk to 
public safety, the Commission will notify the carrier who owns and 
operates the vehicle that the appeal of the finding placing the 
vehicle out of service is dismissed.    
 
005.09C(d) The vehicle may not be placed back into service until 
the necessary repairs have been made and an inspection finds 
that the vehicle is no longer unsafe or poses a significant risk to 
public safety and the Commission certifies in writing that the 
vehicle can be placed back into service.  

  
006  INSURANCE COVERAGE: 
  

006.01  Minimum Amounts of Coverage:  Unless otherwise provided in a certificate of 
public convenience and necessity or permit issued by the Commission, each motor 
carrier will have liability coverage at any time for any one accident, by insurance, surety 
bond, self insurance, or a combination thereof, in the minimum as required by Rule 
003.03.  
 
006.02  In addition to the requirements for minimum insurance as provided in Rule 
003.03, all carriers of passengers will also carry uninsured and underinsured motorist 
coverage with a minimum limit of one hundred thousand ($100,000) per person, three 
hundred ($300,000) aggregate per accident coverage.   

  
006.03  All motor carrier insurance required to be filed with the Commission will be 
continuous in nature, subject to cancellation by the insurer or the insured within thirty (30) 
days written notice to the Commission.  Insurance for a specified term (e.g. six months or 
one year) will not be acceptable to meet the motor carrier insurance requirements of 
these Rules.  

  
006.04  Proof of adequate coverage by insurance or bond will be made by filing a uniform 
motor carrier insurance filing or a uniform motor carrier surety bond filing in lieu of the 
policy of insurance or surety bond.  Such filing may be made electronically in a manner 
designated by the Director of Transportation of the Commission.  Upon receipt by the 
Commission of a paper filing, which will be in triplicate, one copy will be returned to the 
home office of the insurance or surety company, one copy will be forwarded to the 
insured, and the original will be retained by the Commission.  
 
006.05  Types of Filings:  Insurance filings will be made on the following designated forms 
unless the Director of Transportation will specifically authorize another type of filing:   

  
006.05A  All liability insurance filings will be either Form E, entitled:  Uniform 
Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of 
Insurance. 
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006.05B  All liability surety bond filings will be Form G, entitled:  Uniform Motor 
Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Surety Bond.   
 
006.05C  All cargo insurance filings will be Form H, entitled:  Uniform Motor 
Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance.  
 
006.05D  All cargo surety bond filings will be Form J, entitled:  Uniform Motor 
Carrier Cargo Surety Bond.   
  
006.05E  All insurance cancellation filings will be Form K, entitled:  Uniform 
Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies.    
 
006.05F  All surety bond cancellations filings will be Form L, entitled:  Uniform 
Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Surety Bonds.  
 

 006.06  Each insurance policy or bond will be written in the full and correct name of the 
individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability company or other person as shown on 
the insured's certificate or permit.  All partners in a partnership will be named in the policy 
or bond.  

  
006.07  Motor carrier insurance required under these rules will provide:  

 
006.07A  The liability of the insurance company will extend only to the insured 
named in the policy and its employees or lessees notwithstanding any clause in 
the policy providing for additional insured.   

  
006.07B  The liability of the insurance company will not be affected by any 
provision in the policy or the endorsement thereon or violation thereof by the 
insured, or by the financial condition of the insured.   

  
006.07C  The insurance company will be liable whether the loss, damage, injury 
or death occurs on the route or in the territory authorized to be served by the 
insured or elsewhere in the state.  

  
006.07D  The insurance company will be liable within the limits of liability as set 
out in section 003.03 and its subsections of these rules, regardless of whether 
the motor vehicles or termini, warehouses or other facilities used in connection 
with the transportation of the cargo are specifically described in the policy or 
not.  

  
006.07E  The insurance company will pay, within the limits of liability set out in 
section 003.03 and its subsections of these rules, any final judgment recovered 
against the insured for bodily injury to, or death of, any person, except 
employees of insured while engaged in the course of their employment, or loss 
or damage to property of others, except property leased or rented by the 
insured, which results from negligent operation, maintenance, or use of motor 
vehicles under the certificates of public convenience and necessity, or permit 
issued to the insured by the Commission.   
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006.07F  The liability of the insurance company on each vehicle will be a 
continuing one notwithstanding any recovery under the schedule of limits set 
out in section 006.05. 
   
006.07G  No provision contained in the policy or endorsement thereon, or 
violation thereof by the insured, will affect in any way the right of any shipper or 
consignee to relieve the insurance company from liability for the payment of any 
claim for which the insured may be held legally liable to compensate shippers or 
consignees, irrespective of the financial condition of the insured.   

  
006.08  Each policy of insurance or surety bond issued pursuant to these regulations will 
be endorsed by authorized personnel of such company.  
  
006.09  Policies of insurance, surety bonds, and the certificates and endorsements 
thereof will not be canceled and liability will not cease until after thirty (30) days written 
notice by the insurer has been given to the Commission.  Such thirty (30) day period will 
commence on the date the cancellation filing, as set out in section 006.05 is received by 
the Commission.  

 
006.10  No insurance policy or surety bond will be accepted by the Commission unless 
written by a company which has been granted a certificate of authority by the 
Department of Insurance of the State of Nebraska; or which is a properly registered risk 
retention group as authorized under the federal Liability Risk Retention Act and the 
state's Risk Retention Act, provided that when a carrier is, after diligent effort, unable to 
obtain an insurance policy or surety bond from an authorized company, such carrier may 
obtain a policy or bond from a non-admitted company pursuant to the Surplus Insurance 
Act. 

  
006.11  A carrier may apply to qualify as a self-insurer by furnishing the Commission a 
true and accurate statement of its financial condition and any other evidence required by 
the Commission which will establish to the Commission's satisfaction, the ability of the 
carrier to meet the requirements of section 003.03 and its subsections without adversely 
affecting the carrier's financial stability.  Such self-insurance will become effective only 
upon the written approval of the Commission and will be subject to review at the 
Commission's discretion. 
  
006.12  The Commission may require any carrier qualifying as a self-insurer to deposit 
securities, in any amount up to the requirements set by section 003.03 and its 
subsections, with any financial institution within this state.  
  
006.13  Any carrier may withdraw its qualifications as self-insurer, upon written notice to 
the Commission and compliance with the provisions of section 006.04. 
  
006.14  The Commission may revoke its approval of any insurance policy, surety bond, 
or qualification as a self-insurer, if, in its judgment, such security no longer complies with 
these regulations, or fails to provide satisfactory or adequate protection for the public.  
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007  ACCOUNTING AND STATISTICAL INFORMATION:  
  

007.01 Business Records Retention and Inspection: Each carrier will, for a period of one 
(1) year, maintain copies of records related to the movement of passengers or household 
goods.  All such records will be available to the Commission for inspection. 
  
007.02 Notification of change of address or contact information:  All carriers will inform the 
Commission of changes in address or contact information. 

 
008 LEASING AND INTERCHANGE OF EQUIPMENT:  
  

008.01  Scope:  Common or contract carriers may engage in leasing only as provided by 
these rules.  Failure to observe the provisions of a lease or its preparation will be a 
violation of these rules.  Leases filed with the Commission in accordance with these rules 
will be retained by the Commission, the Lessor, and the Lessee for not less than three 
years after cancellation of such lease.  
008.02  Leasing Equipment:  Common or contract carriers may lease equipment which 
they do not own to augment their existing equipment, other than that exchanged between 
motor carriers in interchange service, only under the following conditions:  

  
008.02A  Each lease for the use of equipment will:  

 
008.02A1  Be made between the lessor and lessee;  

 
008.02A2  Be in writing and signed by the parties thereto, or their 
duly authorized agents;  

  
008.02A3  Specify the time period for which the lease applies and 
the time, date, or circumstance on which the lease begins and ends, 
the duration of which will coincide with the time for giving receipts for 
the equipment or the vehicles as required by these rules. 
  
008.02A4  Specify the compensation to be paid by the lessee for the 
equipment or vehicle. 

  
008.02A5  Provide for the exclusive possession, control, and use of 
the equipment or vehicle, and for the complete assumption of 
responsibility in respect thereto by the lessee for the duration of the 
lease, or otherwise may be assigned by the lessee, in writing, to an 
independent contractor who will operate equipment under the 
lessee’s authority. 

  
008.02A6 Provide that the lessee will be responsible for carrying the 
insurance required by the Commission not withstanding any 
agreement between the parties that the lessor will hold the lessee 
harmless and provide certain insurance covering the lessee. 
 
008.02A7  Be approved by the Commission. 
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008.02A8  Be executed in quadruplicate, with all copies filed with the 
Commission to be stamped for approval.  One copy will be retained 
by the Commission and the other three returned to the lessee of 
which the lessee will retain one, carry one copy on the equipment or 
vehicle and send the remaining copy to the lessor for retention.   

  
008.02B  Notwithstanding the provision of rule 008.02E, a common or contract 
carrier lessee of equipment or vehicles may subsequently lease that leased 
equipment or vehicle to another common or contract carrier without being in 
violation of these rules if the subsequent lease also conforms to the provisions 
of this section. 

 
008.02C  When possession of equipment is taken by lessee, the lessee will give 
to the lessor a receipt specifically identifying the equipment and stating the date 
and time of day possession is taken.  When the possession by the lessee ends, 
the lessee will obtain from the lessor a receipt specifically identifying the 
equipment and stating the date and time of day possession is taken.  

  
008.02D  It will be the duty of the lessee before taking possession of equipment 
or vehicle, to inspect the same in order to ensure that  the equipment complies 
with the safety regulations of section 005 of these rules.  The person making the 
inspection will certify the results thereof in a report which will be retained by the 
lessee for the duration of the lease.  When equipment other than a power unit is 
leased, any form of report applicable to such equipment or vehicle may be 
used.  If the inspection discloses that the equipment or vehicle does not comply 
with the requirements of section 005 of these rules, possession will not be tak-
en.  In all instances in which inspection is made, the lessee will certify on the 
report that the person making the inspection is competent and qualified to make 
such inspection as a representative of the lessee.  

  
008.02E  The lessee will identify the leased equipment or vehicle during the 
duration of the lease. Before relinquishing possession of the equipment or 
vehicle to the lessor, the lessee will remove any PSC plates or other signs 
displayed on such equipment or vehicle showing it as the operating carrier.  
When a power unit owned by a lessor holding operating authority from the 
Commission is leased, the PSC plates and the cab card belonging to the lessor 
may remain on or in the power unit.  

  
008.02F  Before any person other than a regular employee of the lessee is 
assigned to drive the equipment or vehicle operated under these rules, the 
lessee will make certain that the driver is familiar with, and that employment 
does not result in any violation of section 005 of these rules.  The driver will 
furnish to the lessee a certificate of physical examination in accordance with 
section 005.03 of these rules.  

 
008.02G  Each lessee who uses equipment or vehicle under these rules will 
prepare and retain for one year, a document covering each trip for which the 
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equipment or vehicle is used.  This document will contain the name and 
address of the lessor, the point of origin, the commodity carried, if any, the time 
and date of departure, the point of final destination, and the lessee's certificate 
or permit number which has been affixed to the equipment or vehicle.  Bills of 
lading, way-bills, freight-bills, manifests, or other paper identifying the lading will 
be carried on the equipment or vehicle during use.  Copies of these documents 
will be kept by the lessee for not less than three (3) years.  
 
002.08H  The use of leased equipment will not change operations or the 
relations of the parties involved as they relate to the jurisdiction and control of 
the Commission.  The lessee will continue to remain responsible to the 
Commission and will answer to the Commission for the performance of its 
common or contract carrier’s responsibilities and for the conduct of any of the 
drivers with whom it has a lease. 

 
008.03  Interchange of Equipment:  For the purposes of this section, the common or 
contract carrier leasing the equipment to another common or contract carrier is referred to 
as the transferor, and the common or contract carrier which takes possession of the 
equipment will be referred to as the transferee.  Common or contract carriers may inter-
change equipment with one or more common or contract carriers only under the following 
conditions:  

 
008.03A  Written Agreement:  The written contract, lease or other arrangement 
providing for interchange, hereinafter, the written agreement, will specify in a 
readily apparent manner that it is an interchange agreement and will:  

 
008.03A1  Describe specifically the equipment to be interchanged 
and specify the point or points at which the interchange is to occur. 

  
008.03A2  Specify the use to be made of the equipment and the 
consideration for the use.  

  
008.03A3  Be signed by the parties to the written agreement or their 
duly authorized agents.  

  
008.03A4  Be executed in quadruplicate, with all copies filed with the 
Commission to be stamped for approval.  
One copy will be retained by the Commission and the other three 
returned to the transferee.  The transferee shall retain one copy for 
itself, carry one copy on the equipment and send the remaining copy 
to the transferor for retention.  

  
008.03B  In order to engage in the interchange of equipment, the certificates or 
permits held by transferee and transferor must authorize the transportation of 
the commodities proposed to be transported and must authorize service from 
and to the point where the physical interchange occurs.  
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008.03C  Traffic transported under interchange service will move by means of 
through bills of lading issued by the originating carrier, and the rates charged 
and revenues collected must be accounted for in the same manner as if there 
had been no interchange of equipment.  Charges for the use of the equipment 
will be kept separate and distinct from the divisions of the joint rates or the 
proportions thereof accruing to the carriers.  

  
008.03D  The transferee will have the equipment inspected in the manner 
provided for in section 008.02D of these rules.  Equipment which does not 
comply with the safety regulations will not be operated until the defects have 
been corrected.  

 
008.03E  A common or contract carrier which operates a power unit in 
interchange service as the transferee will identify such equipment in accordance 
with these rules.  Upon completion of the interchange agreement, the transferee 
will remove any PSC plate, legend, or signs showing the transferee as the 
operating carrier before relinquishing possession of the equipment. 
 
008.03F  A PSC plate need not be purchased by the transferee if the PSC plate 
purchased for the power unit by the transferor remains on the power unit.    

  
008.03G  The transferee of equipment on a through movement involving two or 
more carriers will be considered the owner of the equipment for the purpose of 
leasing the equipment for movement to destination or return to the originating 
carrier. 

  
009  BUSES:  The following provisions pertain only to carriers providing bus service as defined 
in rule 003.01A et seq.: 
 

009.01  Refusal to Carry:  No driver of any vehicle which transports passengers will refuse 
to carry any person offering himself or herself for carriage at any time at any regular 
stopping place who tenders the regular fare to any regular stopping place on the route of 
such carrier, or between the termini of the route, unless at the same time of such  
offer the vehicle is fully occupied or unless the person tendering such fare is intoxicated or 
acting in a disorderly manner. 
 
009.02  Trailers:  Unless specifically authorized in writing by the Commission, no carrier will 
transport passengers in a vehicle with any trailer or other vehicle attached, except in a case 
where a vehicle has become disabled while on a trip and is unable to run on its own power, 
such disabled vehicle may be towed to a point where repair facilities are available. 

 
009.03  Aisles:  Drivers will at all times keep the aisles from front to rear of their buses free 
from obstructions of any kind, and will not permit passengers to ride on any other part of the 
vehicle other than the seats while the vehicle is in motion except in an emergency.  
Passengers will not be allowed in front of a two inch (2") wide white line which will be 
painted on the floor of each vehicle immediately behind the driver's seat.  Each vehicle will 
have a notice visible at the front of the vehicle that passengers must remain behind the 
white line. 
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009.04  Heat:  Vehicles used to transport passengers will be equipped with a heating 
system sufficient to keep the vehicle comfortable for its passengers. 

 
009.05  Lighting:  Vehicles will be equipped with lights of not less than two candle power 
within the vehicle and so arranged as to light up the whole of the interior except that portion 
occupied by the driver. 

 
009.06  Emergency Exit Doors:  All vehicles with a seating capacity of eight (8) or more 
passengers will have emergency exits either in the form of push out windows, or a door on 
the opposite side of the vehicle entry or at the rear of the vehicle.  The door will be equipped 
with a latch which may be readily operated in an emergency.  There shall be no 
obstructions, either inside or outside, which would prevent the door from being opened.  The 
exits will be easily accessible to passengers. 

 
009.07  Timetables:  Each carrier who transports passengers in regular scheduled service 
will file with the Commission prior to commencing operations, a timetable or schedule 
showing the time of arrival or departure of its vehicles at each point of the route and the 
number of trips made daily.  When any change is made in the table or schedule, a new table 
or schedule will be filed with the Commission.  All time schedules and revisions will be filed 
with the Commission not less than ten (10) days prior to the proposed effective date unless 
otherwise authorized by the Commission.  No time schedule or revision will be effective until 
approved by the Commission.  

 
009.08  Charter Service and Special Party Service:  The following provisions apply only to 
charter service and special party service as designated. 

 
009.08A  No charter or special party service will be conducted between the same 
points or over the same route so frequently as to be construed as a regular or 
scheduled service. 
 
009.08B  Special party service will not be conducted between points on the route 
of another route so frequently as to be construed as a regular or scheduled 
service. 
 
009.08C  Carriers holding certificates restricted to charter service or sightseeing 
operations will be prohibited from conducting special party operations. 
 
009.08D  Each vehicle used in charter or special party service will be so 
designated by a sign on the front of the vehicle used for such service. 
 
009.08E  Each carrier conducting charter or special party service will file with the 
Commission a tariff of rates for the transportation of parties and charges for dead 
head mileage which will be approved by the Commission prior to implementation.  
The tariff will also indicate at which points the carrier has equipment available for 
charter party service.  No equipment will be held out as available at any non-
authorized point. 
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010  PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO TRANSPORTATION OF PASSENGERS:  The following 
provisions will be applicable to the transportation of passengers as designated within this 
section.  
 

010.01  Provisions Applicable to All Classifications of Passenger Transportation: In 
addition to the other applicable Motor Carrier rules in this chapter, the following provisions 
will be applicable to all classifications of service for the transportation of passengers: 

 
010.01A Vehicle Title:  All vehicles will be owned by, and registered in, the 
name of the certificate holder, except that the certificate holder may engage in 
equipment leasing as provided by these rules. 

 
010.01B If a person applies for carriage and is willing and able to tender the 
fare, each operator will convey such person to the person's destination unless: 

 
010.01B1 The passenger is in such condition of uncleanliness that 
carriage in the vehicle would be a violation of any law. 

  
010.01B2 The behavior of the passenger is such that the person 
poses a safety risk to the operator, other passengers, or the vehicle 
is in danger of being damaged 
010.01B3 The point of origin or destination or immediate approach is 
impassable or dangerous.  

 
010.01C  In addition to complying with the minimum qualifications for driving a 
motor vehicle subject to Commission jurisdiction, all operators will: 

 
010.01C1  Be competent to conduct the applicable    

   transportation service safely and courteously. 
  

010.01C2  Not smoke inside the vehicle. 
 
010.01C3  Shall be within the ages of twenty-one (21) and seventy 
(70) except that the Commission may waive the maximum age limit 
for an operator who is over seventy (70) if the carrier desiring to 
employ the operator can show that the operator is insurable, has no 
medical or other disability which prevents him or her from safely 
operating the vehicle and has a satisfactory driving record. Any such 
waiver will be in writing and renewed annually.  Any application for 
waiver or renewal will be accompanied by a medical certificate 
required by rule 005.02. 

 
010.01D  Each carrier will retain articles left in vehicles by passengers for not 
less than thirty (30) days.  Upon request from any passenger, the carrier will 
make a reasonable search for any article believed to have been left in a vehicle.  
010.01E Trip Log:  All carriers will maintain a trip log which contains the 
information prescribed in this section.  Such log will be completed following the 
delivery of the passenger to his or her destination and signed by the driver.  The 
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Commission may, upon application and written approval, allow for electronic 
filing and storing of the information required in this section provided that all of 
the information herein prescribed is included except that the full name of the 
driver may be filed in place of the signature.  All records required by this section 
will be retained by the carrier for a period of two (2) years from the date of the 
transportation of the passenger. 

 
010.01E1 The name of the individual engaging or hiring the vehicle 
and his or her address. 
010.01E2 The address of the point where the passenger was picked 
up and the point of destination and the times they occurred. 

 
   010.01E3 The amount charged and collected. 
 

010.01F  Receipt:  Upon demand of any passenger, a receipt for services will 
be given at the time of payment.  Such receipt will contain the name of the 
company, the name of the operator, the vehicle fleet number, the total amount 
paid, and the date of payment. 

 
010.01G  Complaints:  Every vehicle will have a notice posted, clearly legible 
and visible from the passenger compartment, which reads: 

 
"DIRECT COMPLAINTS REGARDING THE OPERATION 

OF THIS VEHICLE TO: 
 The Nebraska Public Service Commission 

300 The Atrium, 1200 N Street 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508 

1-800-526-0017 (Nebraska) 
1-402-471-3101 (Lincoln)" 

 
010.02  Provisions Applicable Only to Those Carriers Providing Taxicab Service:  The 
following provisions apply only to those carriers who are authorized to provide taxicab 
service: 
 

010.02A  If a person applies for carriage and is willing and able to tender the 
fare, the operator will convey such person to his or her destination subject to 
rule 010.01B, or unless the vehicle is already engaged. 
 
010.02B  Operators may solicit passengers only at taxicab stands established 
by the city, while seated in the driver's seat, or while standing beside the 
vehicle.  Passengers will not be solicited by outcries or hawking. 

 
010.02C  Carriers will comply with all applicable municipal ordinances relating 
to the qualification of taxicab operators which are not in conflict with these rules. 

 
010.02D  The number of passengers carried by a vehicle will not exceed seven 
persons, including the driver, or the rated capacity of such vehicle as prescribed 
by the maker of the vehicle, whichever is smaller.  Except for transportation 
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provided under contract with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human 
Services, whenever any vehicle is occupied by a passenger or passengers, the 
operator will not permit any other person to occupy the vehicle except with the 
consent of the first passenger or passengers.  Passengers will be informed of 
this provision by a card, posted inside the vehicle, stating the schedule of rates 
and charges for the vicinity in which the vehicle is operated and in the following 
form: 

 
"FOR YOUR PROTECTION: 

  
You, as the first passenger in this taxicab, are the one to decide who will ride 
with you.  Unless it is at your request or with your consent, this cab driver is 
prohibited by law from accepting additional passengers.  Schedule of rates 
authorized for taxicabs operating in (Name of Town) is (Copy from commission 
order setting rates for that vicinity).  

  
(Name of Company)" 

  
010.02D1  Service will not be denied to the first passenger or passengers due 
to refusal to grant consent to transport additional passengers on the trip. 
 
010.02D2  If several individuals that have boarded a taxicab at one location 
choose to be transported to a single common destination, the driver of the 
taxicab will charge the party at rates approved by the Commission as if the 
passengers are all members of the same party. 
 
010.02E  Each vehicle will be operated over the most direct route from point of 
passenger pickup to the point of destination of passengers.  

  
010.02F  Each carrier will have its full or trade name and assigned  application 
number permanently placed on each side of the vehicle in letters at least two 
inches (2") high. The word "taxicab" will also appear conspicuously on the sides 
of the vehicle unless the word "cab", “taxi” or "taxicab" is included within the 
name of the carrier.  The fleet number of each vehicle will be displayed in 
figures not less than two inches (2") high in the forward part of the passenger 
compartment and also on the sides and rear of each vehicle.  None of the 
markings described in this rule will be placed on any glass or on the bumper of 
the vehicle. 

  
010.02G  Each vehicle will be equipped with:  

  
010.02G1  A dome light within the passenger compartment of the 
vehicle capable of being turned on or off by passengers, or 
controlled by operation of the doors. 

  
010.02G2  An identity light attached to the top of the vehicle.  The 
light will be in one unit consisting of an illuminated plate or cylinder 
upon which is printed the word "taxicab", "taxi", "cab", "for hire", or 
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the owner's trade name.  The size of such light will not exceed eight 
inches (8") in height nor twenty-three inches (23") in length.  Loaded 
or bug lights may be attached to the upper portion of a vehicle.  If 
used, such lights will be smaller than the identity light and will be 
illuminated when the vehicle is engaged.  

 
010.02H A carrier which operates in municipalities of fifteen thousand (15,000) 
persons or more, as determined by the official U.S. Census, or between munici-
palities not more than five (5) miles apart, whose aggregate population exceeds 
fifteen thousand (15,000) persons, will equip its vehicles with a taximeter or a 
taxi soft meter.  The Commission may, at any time, require any carrier operating 
in any community of less than fifteen thousand (15,000) persons to equip its 
vehicles with a taximeter or a taxi soft meter.  Taximeters and taxi soft meters 
are subject to the following specifications:  
 

010.02H1  No taximeter will be operated without first having been 
inspected, tested, approved and sealed by the Commission or a duly 
authorized representative of the taxicab company. 

 
010.02H2  Each meter will be sealed during the time the vehicle is in 
the service of the taxicab carrier  
 

010.02H2(a) Taximeters will be sealed with either a wire 
and lead seal bearing the letters “NPSC,” or, at the 
discretion of the Commission representative, with a 
sticker bearing the letters “NPSC.” This seal will be 
affixed only by a person duly authorized by the 
Commission. 

 
010.02H2(b) Taxi soft meters will be physically secured 
in each vehicle and password protected that enable only 
an authorized representative of the company to program 
the taxi soft meter remotely. Taxi drivers may not have 
access to or program taxi soft meters. Taxi soft meters 
will be considered sealed upon written approval from the 
Commission. 

 
 
010.02H3 Commission approved rates will be programmed into each 
taxi soft meter. 
 

010.02H3(a) Programmed rates may only be changed 
by an authorized representative of the company who 
has  central password protected access to program 
rates for all taxi soft meters in the fleet. 
 
010.02H3(b) Hardware and Software provisions must 
be in place that prevent a taxi driver from changing the 



SECRETARY’S RECORD, PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

 

Rule and Regulation No. 203   Page 26 

programmed rates or modifying how the taxi soft meter 
works. 
 
010.02H3(c) Each company will have access to, and 
provide to the Commission upon request, a changelog 
that provides a persistent audit trail or rates that are 
charged and historical rate changes that have been 
made identifying the person(s) who made them. 
 
010.02H3(d) Any Hardware or Software changes and/or 
upgrades must not affect the way programmed rates are 
calculated. If the calculation of programmed rates is 
affected, the company must have the taxi soft meter 
reevaluated according to 010.02H1. 

 
010.02H4 taxi soft meters must provide passengers with a generated 
receipt pursuant to rule 010.01F. 
 
010.02H5  Taximeters will be mounted and connected to the 
transmission or speedometer in an approved manner. Taxi soft 
meters shall be mounted or affixed to the vehicle interior to the right 
of the driver, and physically secured in the vehicle by hardware. 
Where mounted on the dashboard of a vehicle, the meter will be 
located so as not to obstruct the view of the operator or cause undue 
hazard to passengers.  All taximeters and taxi soft meters will be 
placed so that the dial or faceplate showing the amount charged is 
well lighted and readily visible to passengers riding in the vehicle. 

 
010.02H6  Periodic tests of meters will be made by the Commission.  
A meter with an error in registration not exceeding three percent 
(3%) of the distance covered by each meter drop will be considered 
correct and accurate.  Otherwise, the requirements for approval of, 
and methods for, testing the taximeters will conform to specifications 
established by the National Bureau of Standards.  

  
010.02H7  After a meter has been tested, approved and sealed, a 
different tire size will not be affixed to the vehicle without re-testing 
the meter.  

  
010.02I  Each vehicle will be equipped with a device visible to the public from 
the outside of the vehicle which indicates whether it is in service or for hire and 
a device visible to a passenger inside which indicates whether the taximeter is 
in position to record a fare. 
 
010.02J  Each operator will be identified by a card, displayed in full view of the 
passengers, bearing the name and photograph of the operator and the taxicab 
carrier's address. 
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010.02K  No vehicle will be equipped with shades, curtains, or window-tinting 
which shields the occupants or the operator from observation. 
 

010.03  Provisions That Apply to the Transportation Contractors of the Department of 
Health and Human Services and Like Agencies:  A contractor of the Nebraska 
Department of Health and Human Services, hereinafter, the Department, or any of the 
agencies contracting with the Department, or for any agency organized under the 
Nebraska Community Aging Services Act, who is not certificated or permitted by the 
Commission providing transportation for the Department or such agencies will certify on a 
form provided by the Commission that the provider meets the minimum operator 
standards, insurance requirements and equipment standards prescribed by the 
Commission in these rules. 

 
010.03A  Driver requirements:  A Department transportation provider must 
certify that: 

 
010.03A1  The person is the individual who will personally drive the 
vehicle in question. 

 
010.03A2  The person is at least nineteen (19) years of age or an 
emancipated minor. 

 
010.03A3  The person possesses a current operator's permit issued 
by any state. 

 
010.03A4  The person has knowledge of Nebraska state and local 
traffic rules and the rules of the road. 

 
010.03A5  The person has no more than three (3) points assigned 
against their driver's license. 

 
010.03A6  The person will not smoke in the vehicle. 

 
010.03A7  The person is competent to conduct the service carefully 
and dependably. 

 
010.03A8  The person does not use illegal drugs. 

 
010.03A9  The person is not aware of any mental or physical 
limitation which would impose a threat to the health or well-being of 
the passengers. 

 
010.03B  Insurance:  A Department provider must maintain the minimum 
automobile liability insurance coverage as required by these rules and state law. 

 
010.03C  Equipment Standards:  A Department transportation provider must 
certify that: 
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010.03C1  The person has current and valid plates and registration. 
 

010.03C2  The person will ensure that each vehicle will, at all times, 
be kept in proper physical and mechanical condition including, but 
not limited to, operable seat belts, turn signals, lights and horn, child 
passenger restraint devices as required by law, and comfortable 
temperature and ventilation conditions. 

 
010.03D  Self-Certification:  All such self-certification filings will be made with 
the Commission and filed for record and be available for p140ublic inspection 
during the regular business hours of the Commission.  Such filings will be 
continuous in nature unless canceled by the Department. 

 
010.03E  The Commission will, upon application of any certificated motor carrier 
or the Department, hear any dispute between the same with regard to the 
contested ability of the motor carrier to provide a specific service in a given 
case.  The parties may agree to an informal conference between the carrier, the 
Department, and the Commission to facilitate a mutually agreeable resolution.  
If the parties cannot come to an agreement, either party may file a formal 
complaint with the Commission in a manner provided for in the rules of 
Commission procedure. 

  
011  VOLUNTARY SUSPENSIONS:  Certificated motor carriers seeking to suspend service 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §75-316, must apply for and obtain Commission approval of such 
suspension. The certificated motor carrier must provide the Commission with an application 
identifying the certificate of public convenience and necessity held by said motor carrier and 
setting forth the length of time the carrier wishes to place its authority under voluntary 
suspension.  The Commission may approve the carrier's request for the time period requested 
for a period not exceeding a twelve (12) month increment.  In no event will the carrier's authority 
be suspended for more than twenty-four (24) consecutive months. 
 
012 TRANSPORTATION NETWORK COMPANIES: 
 

012.01  Applicability of Rules:  The rules and regulations found in Chapter 3, Sections 001 
through 011 of Title 291 of the Nebraska Administrative Code will not apply to 
transportation network companies. If there is a conflict between Chapter 3, Sections 001 
through 011 of Title 291 of the Nebraska Administrative Code and these rules regarding 
the regulation of transportation network companies, these rules and regulations will apply. 

 
012.02  Definitions:  In addition to other definitions used in this chapter, unless the context 
otherwise requires, the following definitions apply: 

 
  012.02A  Application open stage means the time period from the moment a 

participating driver logs on to the transportation network company’s online-
enabled application or platform until the driver accepts a request to transport a 
passenger and from the moment the driver completes the transaction on the 
online-enabled application or platform or the passenger exits the vehicle, 
whichever is later, until the driver either accepts another ride request on the 
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online-enabled application or platform or logs off the online-enabled application 
or platform. 

 
  012.02B  Commission means the Nebraska Public Service Commission. 
 
  012.02C  Engaged stage means the time period from the moment a 

participating driver accepts a ride request on the transportation network 
company online-enabled application or platform. 

 
  012.02D  Insurance policy means a policy placed with an authorized Nebraska 

insurer or with a surplus lines insurer pursuant to Chapter 44 of the Nebraska 
Revised Statutes. 

 
  012.02E  Participating driver or driver means any person who uses a personal 

vehicle in connection with a transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform to connect with passengers. 

 
  012.02F  Passenger means a passenger in a personal vehicle for whom a 

driver provides transportation and who is connected with a driver by a 
transportation network company’s online-enabled application or platform. 

 
  012.02G  Passengers on board stage means the time period when there are 

passengers in the vehicle pursuant to the driver’s participation in a 
transportation network company. 

 
  012.02H  Personal vehicle means a passenger car as defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. 

§60-345 that a driver owns, leases or is otherwise authorized to use to provide 
services on a transportation network company’s online-enabled application or 
platform. 

   
  012.02I  Prearranged ride means a ride in which a participating driver is 

matched to a passenger through a transportation network company’s online-
enabled application or platform and does not include the on-demand 
summoning of a ride or street hail. Prearranged ride does not include shared-
expense carpool or vanpool arrangements. Prearranged ride does not include 
activity by the participating driver to personally solicit passengers or initiate 
contact with potential passengers. 

 
  012.02J  Service means the provision of transportation by a driver to a 

passenger with whom a transportation network company matches the driver. 
 
  012.02K  Transportation network company means an organization, including a 

corporation, a limited liability company, a partnership, a sole proprietor, or any 
other entity, operating in this state that provides prearranged transportation 
services for compensation using an online-enabled application or platform to 
connect passengers with participating drivers using a personal vehicle. 
Transportation network company does not include Medicaid nonemergency 
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medical transportation brokerage services provided pursuant to a contract with 
the Department of Health and Human Services. 

 
  012.02L  Transportation network company insurance means an insurance 

policy that covers loss arising from a participating driver’s use of a personal 
vehicle in connection with a transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform. 

 
012.03  Unauthorized Operations:  Unless exempted by statute, no person will operate a 
transportation network company in Nebraska without first having obtained from the 
Commission a permit to operate as a transportation network company in Nebraska. 
 
012.04  Application Requirements:  The application for permit to operate as a 
transportation network company in Nebraska must be filed on forms provided by the 
Commission. 
 

  012.04A  The application for a permit will be in writing, under oath, submitted to 
the Commission, and accompanied by the fee required under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 
75-305(2). 

 
  012.04B  A duly authorized official of the applicant who possesses the full 

power and authority to make binding representations on the applicant’s behalf 
will subscribe to the oath on the application. 

    
   012.04B1  A participating driver contracting with a transportation 

network company holding a valid permit from the Commission will not 
be required to obtain a permit or certificate from the Commission 
when driving pursuant to the terms of the contract with the 
transportation network company. 

 
  012.04C  The application will contain the following: 
 
   012.04C1  The legal name of the applicant; 
 
   012.04C2  Any name under which the applicant will or does conduct 

business in Nebraska; 
 
   012.04C3  The applicant’s primary business address and telephone 

number; 
 
   012.04C4  A copy of the articles of organization or certificate to 

transact business in Nebraska; 
 
   012.04C5  The name, address, and telephone number of the 

applicant’s registered agent in Nebraska; and 
 
   012.04C6  A statement that the applicant agrees to adhere to the 

statutes of Nebraska, the rules and regulations of the Commission 
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regulating transportation network companies, and any applicable 
federal laws, local ordinances and regulations. 

 
012.04D  If an applicant is duly certified or permitted to operate a transportation 
network company in at least one other state, the Commission will, within sixty 
(60) days after receiving a complete application, issue a permit to the applicant if 
the applicant meets the requirements set forth under statute and Commission 
rules and regulations. 
 
012.04E  If an applicant is not duly certified or permitted to operate a 
transportation network company in at least one other state, the Commission will, 
within ninety (90) days after receiving a complete application, issue a permit to 
the applicant if the applicant meets the requirements set forth under statute and 
Commission rules and regulations. The applicant will bear the burden of 
demonstrating that: 

    
   012.04E1  The applicant has sufficient financial resources to provide 

transportation network company services in the proposed service 
territory; 

 
   012.04E2  The applicant has sufficient technical competency to 

provide transportation network company services in the proposed 
service territory; and 

 
   012.04E3  The applicant has sufficient managerial resources to 

provide transportation network company services in the proposed 
service territory. 

 
  012.04F  If the Commission finds any information incomplete or inaccurate, the 

Commission will notify the applicant and give the applicant the opportunity to 
complete the application. 

 
012.05  Transportation Network Company Requirements:  Every transportation network 
company will: 

 
  012.05A  Provide the Commission with its email address and customer service 

telephone number. 
 
  012.05B  Display for the passenger either a picture of the driver’s personal 

vehicle and a picture of the driver or the license plate number of the driver’s 
personal vehicle on the online-enabled application or platform that a 
transportation network company uses to connect drivers and passengers. 

 
  012.05C  Maintain an agent for service of process in Nebraska. 
 
  012.05D  Maintain accurate and up-to-date records of all drivers providing 

services on behalf of the transportation network company, including the vehicle 
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identification number for all personal vehicles to be operated in connection with 
the transportation network company. 

 
  012.05E  Implement an anti-discrimination policy that prohibits discrimination 

by any driver providing service for the company on the basis of race, national 
origin, religion, gender, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital 
status, or age and file the policy with the Commission. 

 
  012.05F  Maintain a website that provides a customer service telephone 

number or email address of the transportation network company and that 
provides the telephone number and email address of the Commission. 

 
  012.05G  Establish a driver training program designed to ensure that each 

driver safely operates his or her personal vehicle prior to the driver being able 
to offer services on the transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform. 

 
  012.05H  Maintain records required under Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-323 through 

75-343 to be collected by the transportation network company, including 
records regarding participating drivers. 

 
  012.05I  Cooperate with the Commission and any employees, investigators, or 

duly authorized agents of the Commission in the investigation of complaints 
received by the Commission from the public or in investigations initiated by the 
Commission. 

 
  012.05J  Disclose in writing prior to permitting a person to act as a driver that a 

driver is responsible to know the laws, rules, and regulations that govern the 
service he or she provides in connection with a transportation network 
company. 

 
012.06  Prearranged Ride:  A participating driver will not provide a ride unless it is a 
prearranged ride. 
 

  012.06A  Upon completion of a prearranged ride, a transportation network 
company will transmit an electronic receipt to the passenger’s email address or 
online-enabled application documenting the following: 

 
   012.06A1  The point of origin and destination of the prearranged ride; 
 
   012.06A2  The total duration and distance of the prearranged ride; 
 
   012.06A3  The total amount paid, if any, including the base fare and 

any additional charges incurred for distance traveled or duration of 
the prearranged ride; and 

 
   012.06A4  The driver’s first name. 
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012.07  Rates:  Except as otherwise provided by statute or under these rules, a 
transportation network company will not be subject to rate regulation by the Commission 
and will not be subject to provisions relating to rates and charges prescribed in Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §§ 75-101 to 75-158. 

  012.07A  A transportation network company may offer service for 
compensation, no charge, or suggested compensation. 

 
  012.07B  A transportation network company will file with the Commission the 

rates it uses to determine any compensation or suggested compensation on its 
online-enabled application or platform, including any use of dynamic pricing. 
The transportation network company will keep the rate filing current and will 
charge rates consistent with the rates it files with the Commission. 

 
  012.07C  The following requirements apply if the transportation network 

company uses dynamic pricing through its online-enabled application or 
platform: 

 
   012.07C1  The transportation network company’s online-enabled 

application or platform will provide clear visible indication that 
dynamic pricing is in effect prior to the passenger requesting a ride. 

 
012.07C2  The transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform will include a feature that requires the 
passenger to expressly confirm that he or she understands that 
dynamic pricing will be used in order for the ride request to be 
completed. 
 
012.07C3  The transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform will provide a fare estimator that enables the 
passenger to estimate the cost under dynamic pricing prior to 
requesting a ride. 

 
   012.07C4  Dynamic pricing will not be permitted during any state of 

emergency declared by the Governor. 
 
 012.08  Non-compete:  A transportation network company will not require a participating 

driver to sign an agreement not to compete with the company in order to be matched with 
passengers through the company’s online-enabled application or platform. 

 
 012.09  Ownership of Vehicles:  A transportation network company will not own, control, 

operate, or manage drivers’ personal vehicles. 
 
 012.10  HHS Authorization:  No transportation network company or participating driver will 

provide transportation for any person under contract with the Department of Health and 
Human Services or any contractors of the Department of Health and Human Services 
without specific authorization from the Commission. In order to receive such authorization, 
the transportation network company or participating driver will file an application which 
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demonstrates that such service is or will be required by the present or future public 
convenience and necessity as required under Neb. Rev. Stat. § 75-371.20. 

 
 012.11  Drugs and Alcohol Policy:  Every transportation network company will implement, 

enforce, and maintain a zero-tolerance policy on the use of drugs or alcohol applicable to 
any driver providing service for the transportation network company that prohibits a driver 
from using any amount of drugs or alcohol while the driver is providing service. 

 
  012.11A  The transportation network company must provide a copy of the policy 

to the Commission promptly upon adoption, and provide a copy of any revision 
to the policy promptly upon adoption. 

 
  012.11B  A transportation network company will not allow a driver to provide 

service if the company finds the driver to be in violation of its zero-tolerance 
policy or if the driver has not successfully completed driver training as required 
under 012.05G. 

 
  012.11C  The transportation network company will provide on its website and its 

online-enabled application or platform notice of the zero-tolerance policy and 
the procedures to report a complaint about a driver with whom the passenger 
was matched when the passenger reasonably suspects the driver was under 
the influence of drugs or alcohol during the course of the prearranged ride. 

 
   012.11C1  Upon receiving a complaint, a transportation network 

company will immediately suspend the driver against whom the 
complaint was issued and conduct an investigation of the alleged 
violation. The suspension will last for the duration of the 
investigation. 

 
  012.11D  If the Commission has reasonable cause to believe a transportation 

network company is not enforcing the zero-tolerance policy filed with the 
Commission, the Commission will investigate and, after notice and hearing, may 
enter an order requiring the transportation network company to enforce such 
policy, which may include suspension of the participating driver. 

 
 012.12  Driver Requirements:  A participating driver must possess a valid driver’s license, 

proof of registration, and proof of automobile liability insurance and be at least twenty-one 
(21) years of age. 

 
  012.12A  Prior to permitting a person to act as a driver, the transportation 

network company will obtain and review a national criminal history record 
information check.  

 
   012.12A1  The criminal disposition information retrieved by the 

transportation network company’s national criminal history record 
information check will be at least as comprehensive as the criminal 
disposition information retrieved by a national criminal history record 
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information check performed by the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-6120. 

 
   012.12A2  Fingerprinting is not required as part of the national 

criminal history record information check. 
 
  012.12B  A person who has four or more moving traffic violations or one or 

more major traffic violations in the three (3) years prior to the date of the 
criminal background check will not serve as a driver. The following offenses will 
constitute major traffic violations: 

 
   012.12B1  Failure to stop and report or render aid as required under 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 60-696 or 60-697; 
    
   012.12B2  Reckless driving in violation of any city or village 

ordinance or of §§ 60-6213, 60-6214, or 60-6217; 
 
   012.12B3  Speeding of more than thirty-five (35) miles per hour over 

the speed limit; and 
 
   012.12B4  Failure to yield to a pedestrian resulting in bodily injury to 

a pedestrian. 
 
  012.12C  A person who has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere 

to driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in the previous seven (7) years 
in this state or any other state or territory prior to the date of the criminal 
background check will not serve as a driver. 

 
  012.12D  A person who is required to register as a sex offender or who has 

been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any offense involving 
fraud, use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony, a crime involving property 
damage, theft, acts of violence, or acts of terror will not serve as a driver. 

 
 012.13  Hours of Operation:  No person will be a participating driver for a period of more 

than twelve (12) hours during each twenty-four (24) hour period. 
 
 012.14  Vehicle Requirement:  In order for a vehicle to be used under these rules, a 

personal vehicle will be in compliance with the Motor Vehicle Registration Act as required 
for a passenger car as defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. § 60-345. 

 
 012.15  Inspections:  A certified mechanic, who may be employed by a transportation 

network company, will perform an initial safety inspection on each personal vehicle prior 
to approving it for use as a personal vehicle. 

 
  012.15A  The inspection will include inspection of at least the following 

components and as such components will be in good working order: 
 
   012.15A1 Foot brakes; 
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   012.15A2 Parking or emergency brakes; 
 
   012.15A3 Steering mechanism; 
 
   012.15A4 Windshield; 
 
   012.15A5 Rear window and other glass; 
 
   012.15A6 Windshield wipers; 
 
   012.15A7 Headlights; 
 
   012.15A8 Tail lights; 
 
   012.15A9 Turn indicator lights; 
 
   012.15A10 Stop lights; 
 
   012.15A11 Front seat adjustment mechanism; 
 
   012.15A12 The opening, closing, and locking capability of doors; 
 
   012.15A13 Horn; 
 
   012.15A14 Speedometer; 
 

012.15A15 Bumpers; 
 
012.15A16 Brake Lights; 

 
   012.15A17 Muffler and exhaust system; 
 
   012.15A18 Tire conditions, including tread depth; 
 
   012.15A19 Interior and exterior rear-view mirrors; and 
 
   012.15A20 Safety belts for driver and passengers. 
 
  012.15B  A driver will annually obtain such an inspection and approval of the 

driver’s personal vehicle in order to continue its use as a personal vehicle. A 
driver will maintain proof of the current inspection. 

 
  012.15C  A transportation network company will make the initial and annual 

inspection reports available to the Commission upon request. 
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 012.16  Transportation Network Company Insurance:  Beginning on September 1, 2015, 
a transportation network company and a participating driver will maintain transportation 
network company insurance as provided. 

 
  012.16A  Unless otherwise specified, the following requirements will apply to 

transportation network company insurance during the engaged stage and 
during the passengers on board stage: 

 
   012.16A1  Primary liability coverage in the amount of at least one 

million dollars ($1,000,000) for death, personal injury, and property 
damage; and 

 
   012.16A2  Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage for both 

the driver and passengers in the amounts required by the Uninsured 
and Underinsured Motorist Insurance Coverage Act. 

 
  012.16B  Unless otherwise specified, the following requirements will apply to 

transportation network company insurance during the application open stage: 
 
   012.16B1  Transportation network company insurance will be primary 

and in the amount of at least twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) 
for death and personal injury per person, fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000) for death and personal injury per incident, and twenty-five 
thousand dollars ($25,000) for property damage; and 

 
   012.16B2  Uninsured motorist coverage pursuant to the Uninsured 

and Underinsured Motorist Insurance Coverage Act. 
 
  012.16C  The requirements for coverage may be satisfied by any of the 

following: 
 
   012.16C1  Transportation network company insurance maintained by 

a participating driver; 
 
   012.16C2  Transportation network company insurance maintained by 

a transportation network company; or 
    
   012.16C3  Any combination of the above. 
 
  012.16D  Prior to permitting a person to act as a driver, a transportation network 

company will disclose in writing to each participating driver: 
 
   012.16D1  The insurance coverage, the limits of liability, and any 

deductible amounts that the transportation network company 
maintains while the driver uses a personal vehicle in connection with 
a transportation network company’s online-enabled application or 
platform; 
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   012.16D2  That a driver’s personal automobile insurance policy may 
potentially not provide coverage for damage to the vehicle used by 
the driver, uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, and other 
first-party claims from the moment the driver logs on to the 
transportation network company’s online-enabled application or 
platform to the moment the driver logs off the transportation network 
company’s online-enabled application or platform. 

 
    012.16D2a  The driver should contact his or her insurer 

or insurance agent in order to determine coverage under 
his or her personal automobile insurance policy. 

 
  012.16E  The insurer providing transportation network company insurance will 

have the duty to defend and indemnify the insured. 
 
  012.16F  An insurance policy required under Neb. Rev. Stat.  §§ 75-323 through 

75-341 will be placed with an authorized Nebraska insurer or with a surplus-
lines insurer pursuant to Chapter 44 of the Nebraska Revised Statues. 

 
  012.16G  Coverage under a transportation network company insurance policy 

will not be dependent on a personal automobile insurance policy first denying a 
claim nor will a personal automobile insurance policy, including a personal 
liability umbrella policy, be required to first deny a claim. 

 
  012.16H  When transportation network company insurance maintained by a 

participating driver to fulfill the insurance obligations of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-
323 through 75-341 and these rules and regulations has lapsed or ceased to 
exist, the transportation network company will provide the coverage required by 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-323 through 75-341 and these rules beginning with the 
first dollar of a claim. 

 
  012.16I  In order for transportation network company insurance maintained by a 

transportation network company to meet the requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 
75-323 through 75-341 and these rules, a certificate of insurance will be filed 
with the Commission specifying that on cancellation or nonrenewal of the 
transportation network company insurance, the insurer must send written notice 
of the cancellation or nonrenewal to the Commission at least thirty (30) days 
before the effective date of the cancellation or nonrenewal. 

 
  012.16J  Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-323 through 75-341 will not limit the liability of a 

transportation network company arising out of an automobile accident involving 
a participating driver in any action for damages against a transportation network 
company for an amount above the required insurance coverage. 

 
  012.16K  In the event of a loss involving a personal vehicle used in connection 

with a transportation network company and if such personal vehicle is subject to 
a lien, the transportation network company insurance carrier will make payment 
for a claim covered under collision physical damage coverage or comprehensive 
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physical damage coverage directly to the business repairing the vehicle or jointly 
to the owner of the vehicle and the primary lienholder on the covered vehicle. 

 
  012.16L  The owner of any personal vehicle used in connection with a 

transportation network company will have the duty to maintain collision physical 
damage coverage and comprehensive physical damage coverage for 
transportation network company activity if the vehicle is required to carry such 
coverage due to a contractual obligation. 

 
  012.16M  A private passenger automobile insurance policy is not required to 

provide primary or excess coverage during the period of time from the moment a 
participating driver logs on to a transportation network company’s online-
enabled application or platform until the driver logs off the online-enabled 
application or platform or the passenger exits the personal vehicle, whichever is 
later. 

   
  012.16N  Notwithstanding any other law, a personal automobile insurer may, at 

its discretion, offer an automobile insurance policy, or an amendment or 
endorsement to an existing policy, that covers a private passenger motor 
vehicle, station wagon type vehicle, sport utility vehicle, or similar type of motor 
vehicle with a passenger capacity of eight (8) persons or less, including the 
driver, while used in connection with a transportation network company’s online-
enabled application or platform only if the policy expressly provides for the 
coverage during all or the defined portion of the time periods specified in Neb. 
Rev. Stat. §§ 75-323 through 75-341, with or without separate charge, or the 
policy contains an amendment or an endorsement to provide that coverage, for 
which a separately stated premium may be charged. The policy, amendment, or 
endorsement may include, but not be limited to: 

 
   012.16N1  Comprehensive physical damage coverage; 
 
   012.16N2  Collision physical damage coverage; 
 
   012.16N3  Liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage; 
 
   012.16N4  Medical payments coverage; and 
 
   012.16N5  Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. 
   
  012.16O  In a claims coverage investigation, a transportation network company 

or its insurer will cooperate with insurers that are involved in the claims 
coverage investigation to facilitate the exchange of information, including the 
provision of dates and times at which an accident occurred that involved a 
participating driver and the precise times that the participating driver logged on 
and off the transportation network company’s online-enabled application or 
platform in the twenty-four (24) hour period preceding the accident. 
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  012.16P  All records, including electronic records, showing the time when a 
driver has logged in as active or logged out as inactive on the transportation 
network company’s online-enabled application or platform, and any data or 
reports with information about the personal vehicle’s involvement in a motor 
vehicle accident, that are maintained by the transportation network company will 
be maintained for a minimum of five (5) years after the date the loss is reported 
to the transportation network company. 

 
  012.16Q  A participating driver will carry proof of transportation network 

company insurance coverage with him or her at all times during his or her use of 
a vehicle in connection with a transportation network company’s online-enabled 
application or platform.  In the event of an accident, a participating driver will, 
upon request, provide this insurance coverage information to any other party 
involved in the accident and to a law enforcement officer. 

 
012.16Q1  Proof of insurance coverage will be in any format 
allowable under Nebraska law.   

 
 012.17 Liens: 
 
  012.17A  A transportation network company is required to disclose in writing to 

any driver planning to use a vehicle which has a lien against it to provide service 
in connection with a transportation network company that the driver must notify 
the lienholder at least seven days prior to using the vehicle to provide such 
service that the driver intends to use the vehicle to provide service in connection 
with a transportation network company by complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-
323 through 75-343 and these rules. 

 
   012.17A1  The transportation network company will make the 

required disclosure a distinctive part of the driver’s terms of service 
and will require a separate acknowledgment of this disclosure by 
each driver by electronic or handwritten signature. 

 
  012.17B  A driver planning to use a vehicle which has a lien against it to provide 

service in connection with a transportation network company will notify the 
lienholder using a form prescribed by the Commission. 

 
   012.17B1  The form will be signed by the driver prior to filing the form 

with the lienholder. 
 
   012.17B2  The driver will file a copy of the signed lienholder 

notification form as well as proof of receipt of the form to the 
Commission prior to using the vehicle to provide service in 
connection with a transportation network company. 

   
  012.17C  A driver planning to use a vehicle which has a lien against it to provide 

service in connection with a transportation network company will update his or 
her lienholder notification form on file with the Commission within thirty (30) days 
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should the driver acquire a lien on a vehicle or change lienholders during the 
course of his or her employment as a driver with a transportation network 
company. 

 
012.17C1  The form will be signed by the driver prior to filing the form 
with the lienholder.  
 
012.17C2  The driver will file a copy of the signed lienholder 
notification form as well as proof of receipt of the form to the 
Commission prior to using the vehicle to provide service in 
connection with a transportation network company.   
 

  012.17D  The Commission will maintain such records for a maximum of five (5) 
years. 

 
  012.17E  The Commission will make such records available to lienholders. 
 
 012.18  Records:  The Commission or the employees or duly authorized agents of the 

Commission may, in a mutually agreed-upon setting, inspect any records held by a 
transportation network company which the Commission determines are necessary to 
review to ensure public safety, including information obtained pursuant to statute and 
these rules. 

 
  012.18A  Such inspection of records will occur no more than once each 

calendar quarter unless the Commission finds it necessary to inspect such 
records more frequently. Such inspection will be conducted on an audit basis 
rather than a comprehensive basis. 

 
  012.18B  In response to a specific complaint, the Commission may inspect any 

records held by a transportation network company which the Commission 
determines are necessary to investigate and resolve the complaint, including 
information obtained pursuant to statute or these rules.  

 
  012.18C  Any records obtained or inspected pursuant to these rules will not be 

considered public records subject to Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 84-712 to 84-712.09 
and will not be subject to disclosure by the Commission except when publicly 
disclosed as evidence in a civil penalty proceeding pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 
75-156 or in a criminal proceeding prosecuted by the state. 

 
 012.19 Fees: 
 
  012.19A  Every transportation network company will pay an annual fee. 
 
   012.19A1  The transportation network company may choose to pay 

either twenty five thousand dollars ($25,000) or a fee established by 
the Commission not to exceed eighty dollars ($80) for each personal 
vehicle operated by a driver of the transportation network company. 
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   012.19A2  The Commission will establish the amount per vehicle on 
an annual basis so that the amount collected does not exceed the 
amount actually necessary to sustain the administration and 
enforcement of laws, rules, and regulations governing transportation 
network companies. 

 
  012.19B Annual fees will be due and payable to the Commission no later than 

January 1. Such fees will be paid to and collected by the Commission and 
remitted to the State Treasurer within thirty (30) days of receipt. 

 
   012.19B1  Annual fees will be delinquent on March 1 of each year 

after such permit has been issued. 
 
   012.19B2  If the initial permit is issued to a transportation network 

company on or after July 1, the fee will be fifty (50) percent of the 
annual fee. 

 
 012.20  Transportation Network Company Regulation Cash Fund:  
 
  012.20A  This section is adopted pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat.  

§ 75-331. 
   
  012.20B  The Fund will be used to regulate transportation network companies 

and enforce Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-321 through 75-343 and these rules and 
regulations. 

 
  012.20C  The Fund will contain the fees remitted pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 

75-305.  
 
 012.21  Annual Report:  The Commission will electronically provide the Legislature with 

an annual report before December 31 of each year on the status of the implementation of 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 75-321 through 75-343. The report will describe the following: 

 
012.21A  The number of permits issued pursuant to § 75-324; 

 
  012.21B  A description of any revocation proceedings involving permits issued 

under § 75-324; 
 
  012.21C  The number of rides provided by taxicab carriers relative to historical 

numbers; 
 
  012.21D  The number of taxicabs operated by taxicab carriers relative to 

historical numbers; 
 
  012.21E  The number of drivers either employed or contracted by taxicab 

carriers relative to historical numbers; 
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  012.21F  The number of taxicab carriers authorized by the Commission relative 
to historical numbers; 

 
  012.21G  Any other information in its possession that the Commission believes 

will assist the Legislature in evaluating the effectiveness of §§ 75-323 through 
75-343.  The report will also address the question of the need for further 
legislation to achieve the purposes of §§ 75-323 through 75-343. 

 

 
 


